Skip to content

Peacemakers vs Pot-Stirrers!

October 8, 2011

If there is peace in the heart, there will be peace in the home.

If there is peace in the home, there will be peace in the community.

If there is peace in the community, there will be peace in the city.

If there is peace in the city, there will be peace in the nation.

If there is peace in the nation, there will be peace in the world.

Let there be peace, and let it begin with me.

Do we know peace? Have we ever? 

Without a doubt, we know drama … we live it and thrive on it, every day of our lives … and yet, most of us would say, I just want peace.  Would we recognize peace if it were presented to us?  Or would we become bored with it and run right out to stir up something “unpeaceful.”

I’m not sure that we could accept peace even if we had it, and I say that for one reason only.  It  has to do with the first line of the quote at the beginning of this post.  “If there is peace in the heart …”

When was the last time (if ever) that you were able to take a deep breath and exhale, then say with absolute certainty, “I have peace in my heart.”   I’m thinking … I’m thinking … thinking. 

Still thinking.

I know I can say, “I want to have peace in my heart, ” but then there’s a “but.”   It’s that “but.”  We all have it.

The definition of “peace” is “freedom from disturbance; quiet, tranquility.”  So to have “peace in the heart” is a heart without disturbance.   Is that even possible?

My heart is “disturbed” by various things.  Compassion for others … injustices and suffering by other people.  How can I have peace in the heart when there is so much injustice and suffering in this world?  I think I would have to turn a blind eye to the plight of man in this world … in order to have an undisturbed heart … peace in my heart.

When I ponder on how “elusive” peace can be, it gives me greater appreciation for the Beatitude that says, “Blessed are the Peacemakers, for they shall inherit the earth.”  From my perspective about what causes “unrest” in my heart, (injustices in the world, hunger and poverty, oppression and abuse of innocent people, and manipulation of the truth), certainly someone who can anddoes confront those issues … even goes to battle against them … deserves to be blessed.

And did you notice the word, “confront.”  In order to be a peacemaker, one cannot be passive.  Peacemakers must be actively involved in the process.  It’s not a calling to “sit on the sidelines” and say or do nothing, when you see there is a battle going on.  Peacemakers are people of action!  Do-ers!  COURAGEOUS! Willing to follow the unbeaten, unpopular, unstable path.

Now there is a vast differenece between an actively involved Peacemaker and a passive-aggressive POT-STIRRER!  One can be a wolf in sheep’s clothing.  And the difference, I suspect, in found in the fruit.  I suspect that what distinguishes a Peacemaker is a heart of prayer, and a deep empathy for the desperation and suffrage for those going through the battle.  A Peacemaker is not self-serving, but desires to and serves others even at the risk of great personal loss.

Blessed ARE the Peacemakers!  And, SHAME on the POT-STIRRERS!

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

