Skip to content

Well, Here WE Go!

October 27, 2007

If you could feel my heart racing … if you could hear my shallow breathing … if you could see the workings of my mind wondering “what next?” “how will…?” “what if …?”

I’m on a journey. The last time I took a journey that even resembled this nature, I was 18-years old. Too young to know any better. And even then, I felt for sure that God was leading, as I do now.

This past summer I’ve been listening to a study by Woodrow Kroll, titled, “Night Vision Christianity.” It follows the life of Moses and the Exodus. Surely, surely he was as anxious as I am now about making a major move and life change.

A friend of mine, (Jack Clark), told me that a turtle never gets anywhere without sticking his neck out.

Many friends and co-workers are applauding my courage, and cheering me on.

Still, my heart beats faster as this move takes place . My breath is growing quicker … and even though I’ve longed for this and prayed for this for a long, long time — I am nervous.

When I was about 30-years old, God opened up another door of which I was certain that I needed to run through. And of course, the enemy put all kinds of stumbling blocks in my path to keep me from going. But I did it anyway, and it was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

He led me to serve as an assistant camp director at Girl Scout Camp … and I really didn’t know why He wanted me to do it. I just knew that He did, and prepared the way for me. The first day of “counselor training” I realized why when all these young women came into my circle of influence and one blatantly declared that she was an atheist.

She said, “If God had ever done anything for me like He has for you … then I might believe. But He hasn’t and I don’t.”

I was quick enough to realize that HE HAD JUST DONE SOMETHING FOR HER … and it was my responsibility to let her see Jesus in me. (Oh, I so hope that she did. I wonder if she remembers me as much as I remember her.)

A few months after that, I believe God opened up another door for me to serve as a recreation director at a local Boys and Girls Club. I was not at all equipped for this job … but I did it. This experience opened up a whole new world and passion for me. It provided a very different circle of influence … both on me and for me.

Again, I know that God led me there. And I was scared to go. But I would not trade the experience for anything.

As I was driving up today, I put in the song, “Who Am I” and I was simply overwhelmed with God’s Love and Grace and Sovereignty.  “Who AM I … that the Lord of all the earth would care to know my name, would care to feel my hurt.  WHO AM I, that the Bright and Morning Star would choose to light the way, for my every wandering heart?”

I DON’T understand!  I DON’T get it!  It doesn’t make any sense at all to me … but this I do know. My GOD is with me … HE’s here with me.  And all the trepidation I’ve felt … all the worry, the nervousness, the FEAR … has been a complete waste of time.   MY GOD IS WITH ME!

He will never leave nor forsake me. He is here!  HE IS HERE!

And here WE go!

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

