Skip to content

My Departed Dream

November 21, 2006

When did this walk become so hard?
When did the dream turn bad?
Why does my heart ache so for loss,
Of things I never had?

I used to see through starry eyes.
But now, no stars shine through.
I used to hope for days to come.
But now, I hope for few.

I wanted so to make my mark —
To make my life worthwhile.
But every turn I’ve taken seems,
A never-ending mile.

I’d love to capture once again,
Those dreams of yesterday.
Those things that made me yearn to live,
Instead of run away.

I never thought it’s be this way,
That I’d fail at every turn.
Andyet, it seems my fate is sealed,
And my burden is my yearn.

written by: Carole Hicks  (1994)

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

