Skip to content

The Vapor of Youth

November 20, 2006

If youth is a vapor to soon disappear,
Then all the more reason for having you near.

For the life you have breathed into my heart,
In essence, has given this youth a new start.

Tis true and I know that these moments we share,
Tho’ fiery with passion, they will vanish in air.

And all I will have of this Love I adore,
Are sweet memories to relish forevermore.

O’ Lover, you’ve surely captured my heart.
And I only hope on the day that we part.
You will carry a fondness of a love and a friend —
Who will smile with thoughts of you, now and then.

O’ Vanishing Vapor, for you I do pine.
I long for the days when youth was all mine.
But today is the first day of the rest of my life.
So Youth, push me onward…
I will face it in stride.

written by: Carole Hicks  (1987)

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

