Skip to content

Who’s Really the Ghost?

September 18, 2006

I sat here a few days ago writing about this “relationship” from the past…wondering if I dare tread back over that ground.

I knew that God was calling me to make a ministry visit. I knew that He was giving me an opportunity to minister to someone who desperately needs to know, feel and experience His great love and power.  I prayed and sought words to say…perhaps even ” a little more nudging for confirmation.”

As I was reading in my Bible that very afternoon, I came across a passage with the header, “Rescue The Perishing.”  Here’s what it said…

Rescue the perishing; don’t hesitate to step in and help.
If you say, “Hey, that’s none of my business,”
Will that get you off the hook?

Someone is watching you closely, you know —
Someone not impressed with weak excuses.
The Message

There was no turning back after I read that. I didn’t know exactly what I would say…I just knew I had to go and I asked God to go before me…and then go with me.

I prayed for a receptive spirit…

I prayed for confidence in my own testimony and who God has called me to be…

I put together a gift bag for her…a book, a DVD of Saving Grace…a cd of Mark Schultz. And off I headed to Benton to find her.

I first drove to her house. There were no cars there…and I breathed a sigh of relief because I really didn’t think I could return to that house.  I felt an evil presence still lingered there.

Next I drove by the store where she is employed.  My plan was to leave the gift bag for her…even if she wasn’t there…and ask them to make sure she got it.

But there was the car that I saw her get out of at the Taco Bell. So I pulled up…and Jack and I got out and went in to the store.

She greeted me with a hearty, “Hey!”

I replied…”Hey, Girl. We came looking for you.”

Two men came in to the store right after me…and I waited on her to take care of them.   Then I handed her the gift bag and told her these were just some things for her to enjoy as she went through her next round of chemotherapy.

Inside the bag was a card in which I had written a note to her…telling her about my Lord…and my personal experience with Him. I told her that I really was sorry that I had never told her these things before now. I told her a lot of things…in that note.

So, I wasn’t sure what to say…standing in front of her just then. But some words came out…

“I wish I had spent a bit more time with you at the Taco Bell the other day, Connie. I want you to know that I’m praying for you…and if there is anything I can do for you, I want you to let me know.”

She thanked me…and then much to my surprise, she came from behind the counter and hugged me.

“We’ve been friends for a very long time, Connie. Please know that you are not alone in this.” I said.

Suddenly, it all became a bit awkward…and I said, “I hope you get better soon.”

Then she went back behind the counter, assuring me that she was going to get better.  “I’m going to beat this!” she said.

I introduced her to my son, Jack.  She warmed up to him quickly…commenting on his good looks. And then I told her that we’d leave and let her work…but that my number was on the card if she needed or wanted to talk.

I turned to walk out the door…and she called after me…”Thank you, Carole. I love you.”

I always knew that she did. Her brother, David, loved me. I loved him. We were best friends.

I lived most all my life knowing Connie as an angry, embittered, ill-tempered bully. I was intimidated by her…scared to cross her path…anticipating the worst.  I “chose” to see and know her as a “hopelessly lost” cause.
But there she stood…kinder, softer and more peaceful than I could have ever imagined.

I went looking for her…thinking I was doing the ministering.

As it turned out…she ministered to me.

I don’t know if she’ll even read the book, watch the movie or listen to the CD.  I’m not even sure if it matters. I wanted to bless her…and she blessed me.

I am completely humbled.

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

