Skip to content

The Heart Beat of God

August 21, 2006

i·mag·i·na·tion:
1.    Noun
•    The formation of a mental image of something that is neither perceived as real nor present to the senses.
•    The mental image so formed.
•    The ability or tendency to form such images.
2.    The ability to confront and deal with reality by using the creative power of the mind; resourcefulness: handled the problems with great imagination.
3.    A traditional or widely held belief or opinion
4.    4. Archaic
•     An unrealistic idea or notion; a fancy.
•    A plan or scheme.
Synonyms: imagination, fancy, fantasy
These nouns refer to the power of the mind to form images, especially of what is not present to the senses. Imagination is the most broadly applicable: “In the world of words, the imagination is one of the forces of nature” (Wallace Stevens). Fancy especially suggests mental invention that is whimsical, capricious, or playful and that is characteristically well removed from reality: “All power of fancy over reason is a degree of insanity” (Samuel Johnson). Fantasy is applied principally to elaborate or extravagant fancy as a product of the imagination given free rein: “The poet is in command of his fantasy, while it is exactly the mark of the neurotic that he is possessed by his fantasy” (Lionel Trilling).
Imagination: an act or process of forming a conscious idea or mental image of something never before wholly perceived in reality by the one forming the images (as through a synthesis of remembered elements of previous sensory experiences or ideas as modified by unconscious defense mechanisms); also : the ability or gift of forming such conscious ideas or mental images especially for the purposes of artistic or intellectual creation
Source: Merriam-Webster’s Medical Dictionary, © 2002 Merriam-Webster, Inc.
imagination
n 1: the formation of a mental image of something that is not perceived as real and is not present to the senses; “popular imagination created a world of demons”; “imagination reveals what the world could be” [syn: imaginativeness, vision] 2: the ability to form mental images of things or events; “he could still hear her in his imagination” [syn: imaging, imagery, mental imagery] 3: the ability to deal resourcefully with unusual problems; “a man of resource” [syn: resource, resourcefulness]

Imagination is a human trait that I think we either take for granted or are afraid to embrace.  My imagination has proven quite resourceful in my life. I have no doubts at all that God placed “imagination” within us for a very specific purpose.

I have read or heard that one day when we all get to heaven, we’ll be in awe of all the wonderful gifts God had provided and wanted us to use, but we never even attempted to explore them.

I think that too often we get so caught up in the rules…or we are so afraid of what “might” happen, that we tend to squelch the good and perfect gifts that God bestows. We know in our humanness, we are prone to misuse and/or abuse “everything,” so at the deep down pit of it all, we don’t trust ourselves with the “good” things.

Imagination is one of those good things that we are afraid to use…and probably for plenty of good reasons. Still, imagination is a resource that we need to keep close at hand.

Last week, I was on the edge…the verge…at my wit’s end…worn out…disillusioned…mad…sad…and basically just all crumpled up from life.
I couldn’t write…my head was full of thoughts…but none worth writing down.  I had so many voices and matters going on in my head and all about me…I was just tired of hearing it!

I said to the Lord, “Lord Jesus, the only thing I really want to hear is Your heart beat.”

Immediately, my IMAGINATION took me to a scenario in which I was truly leaning my head against the chest of my Savior, and I could hear His heartbeat.
I rested there for just a bit…

Once I heard a young woman who was experiencing incredible loneliness in her life, admit in a Sunday school class that sometimes at night, the only way she could stop crying and get to sleep was to ask Jesus to come and hold her…comfort her…so she would not feel so lonely.

I admit…when I heard her say that…I thought she was “mighty brave” to admit such.

Then at another time, another woman who was about sixty years old, said much the same thing. She said she felt so lonesome and scared sometimes that the only comfort she could find was to imagine herself climbing up in to the lap of God…and resting there.

The other day…coming to the point where I knew that the only thing that would settle my soul was to hear the heartbeat of God…I was reminded of the scripture in Psalms where He says, “Be still…and know that I am God.”

I sat there in my bed…and leaned my head against His chest…and yes, I heard His heartbeat.

YOU HAVE TO BE STILL TO HEAR IT!

Don’t you know that it was the most comforting place to be. I wish I had stayed there longer.  I wish that I had not been distracted or in a hurry to go and do anything else. I wish that I could have just sat there…still…listening to His Heart.

In fact…I’m going to stop writing now…I’ve got to go and rest my head on His chest again.

Thank you Lord…for the gift of imagination.

No comments yet

What are your thoughts?

